Local boys take charge as Tundo snatches lead, Chager second

Saturday November 25 2017

East African Classic Safari Rally

Mombasa Governor Hassan Ali Joho flags off car number 3 Porsche 911 driven by Baldev Chager and co-driven by Ravi Soni from Kabras Sugar team at Whitesands Hotel in Mombasa. PHOTO | LABAN WALLOGA | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

Carl Tundo is the new leader of the East African Safari Classic Rally.

He took over Saturday from Sweden’s Stiq Blomqvist who led in the opening two days.

Blomqvist, the defending champion dropped down the order after his car suffered mechanical problems.

The Swede’s Porsche was seen driving backwards for over seven kilometres in the last stage of the day due to transmission issues. He now lies eighth overall out of the 27 cars still in the race.

Tundo in a Top Fry-sponsored Triumph TR7 is seeking his first Classic Rally victory.

Baldev Chager, the former Safari Rally champion, who is also seeking his first title in this world famous classic rally, is now lying second in his Kabras-sponsored Porsche. Chager is 21 seconds behind Tundo.

He was quickest through Stage Seven of yesterday’s competition.

Twice winner of the rally, Ian Duncan is glued at the bottom of the table though he scored commendable quick stage times yesterday in his renovated Ford Capri.


Duncan’s absence from the Day Two of the competition has cost him dearly in terms of penalty for missing a day out.

Raaji Bharij, the Nakuru Classic Rally Champion, is lying in position five in his Intra Africa Insurance Company-sponsored Porsche.

Shell-sponsored Jonathan Somen, co-driven by Richard Hechle is holding on to sixth in a Ford Escort while the similar car of Ramesh Vishram/Riyaz Ismail (Ford Escort Mark2) is in the 14th place.

“Very long day especially from last night, servicing and finishing at?10pm.?Going to sleep at?12am, waking up at?3am.?Then starting the day with a long drive all the way to Ol-Donyo Longido.

The sections were great, fast, smooth, hairpins and super sections I must say,” said Vishram.

Day Four on Sunday will see the cars tackle Taita Hill Lodge (153km), Shelebwe (78km) and Mackinon Road (63km) before head to Diani Beach Hotel for an overnight stay.

Monday is rest day.

Meanwhile the rallying fraternity is struggling to come to terms with the?sad demise on Friday of Jaideep Singh Vohra, a director of the event.

Vohra died on following road accident as he drove to catch up with the action

The family released details of his funeral that will take place on Sunday morning after prayers at the Pangani Sikh Temple.

The cortege will then head to the Hindu Cemetery in Kariokor for the cremation at 12.30pm.

JS Vohra was the immediate former chairman of Kenya Motor Sports Federation, a seat he held until veteran retired rally driver Phineas Kimathi took over.

And while chairman of East African Safari Rally Limited,?he retained his position on the Kenya Motor Sports Federation Board of Directors, where he was actively involved in the?key decision making organ of motorsports? in Kenya.?

JS, as was popularly known, was an avid supporter and follower?of motorsports and father of 2016? Kenya National Autocross 2WD Non-Turbo Champion Samman Vohra, who recently took a break from the sport to concentrate on further studies overseas.?

The rally re-started Saturday from Amboseli’s Ol Tukai Lodge in honour of Vohra.

Following the fatality?Friday’s?last section at the Amboseli? was cancelled. The 2017 rally continues in his honour and memory.


1. Carl Tundo Tim Jessop -? Triumph TR7 288:4

2. Baldev Singh Chager/Ravi Soni - Porsche 288:25

3. Richard Jackson/Ryan Champion - Porsche 293:29

4. Geoff Bell/Tim Challen - Datsun 260Z 311:35

5. Raaji Bharij Rajay Sehmi - Porsche 316:3

6. Jonathan Somen/Richard Hechle -Ford Escort 316:12

7. Frank Tundo Gavin/Laurence - Triumph TR7 321:46

8. Stig Blomqvist/Porsche 328:31

9. Roger Samuelsson/Robin Friberg - Porsche 331:55

10. Iain Freestone/ Phil Squires - Ford Escort MK1 336:10

11. Nick Mason/Crispin Sassoon -Datsun 240Z 347:26

12. Joseph Huber/Yves Huber - Porsche 351:4

13. Tejveer Singh/ Rai Zahir Shah -Porsche 352:8

14. Ramesh Vishram/Riyaz Ismail - Ford Escort MK2355:12

15. Onkar Singh Rai/Gareth Dawe - Porsche 358:54

16. Simon Connolly/Jonathan Connolly -Porsche 360:9

17. Pawel Molgo/Piotr Domownik -Mercedes Benz 350SLC 365:54

18. Rommy Bamrah/Harvey Jutley -Datsun 240Z 366:4

19. Tim Chesser/Jonathan Pollen - Ford Escort MK1412:8

20. Jan Hagman/Christer Carlsson -Porsche 422:18

21. Bernhard Kessel/Ronny Kessel -Porsche 460:36

22. Scott Armstrong/Harpal Sudle -Datsun 160J 468:17

23. Chesser 481:58

24. Nish Lakhani/Teeku Patel -Datsun SSS 1800511:21

25. Jayant Shah/Ravi Chana - Porsche 578:3

26.Rajesh Maini/Devan Bhundia - Ford Escort MK1 615:4

27. Ian Duncan/ Amaar Slatch - Ford Capri 659:24

                                    1. 8196101083 2018-01-23
                                    2. 2172121082 2018-01-23
                                    3. 6616301081 2018-01-23
                                    4. 9711621080 2018-01-23
                                    5. 4071601079 2018-01-23
                                    6. 8575311078 2018-01-22
                                    7. 6504161077 2018-01-22
                                    8. 6475951076 2018-01-22
                                    9. 1312951075 2018-01-22
                                    10. 2746621074 2018-01-22
                                    11. 151871073 2018-01-22
                                    12. 4637141072 2018-01-22
                                    13. 5414891071 2018-01-21
                                    14. 392961070 2018-01-21
                                    15. 9593791069 2018-01-21
                                    16. 9326521068 2018-01-21
                                    17. 8204451067 2018-01-21
                                    18. 3174701066 2018-01-21
                                    19. 1649671065 2018-01-21
                                    20. 5257251064 2018-01-21